While the Second Amendment of the US Constitution allows for “the right to bear arms,” there are rigid procedures and regulations in carrying a weapon per state. Owning a California concealed carry weapon (CCW) license is itself a privilege, as it is recognized in 24 other states; while California doesn’t honor licenses from other states. If you plan to get a California CCW, this post will discuss in detail the preparations you need, the types of licenses you can get, and the training you need to undergo.
Preparation for the License
Before anything else, you need to fill out an application for a Carry Concealed Weapon Permit, as mandated by a local licensing authority. You also have to complete a California Department of Justice “Standard Initial and Renewal Application for License to Carry a Concealed Weapon” form.
After submitting the application, you have to go to your interview. A federal background check will be done to see if the applicant is prohibited to carry firearms.
Types of CCW Licenses
In the state of California, there are four main types of CCW Licenses:
An employment CCW license is available to an individual who spends a certain amount of time in their primary place of employment. This is valid only in the issuing county and within a 90-day period.
A standard CCW license is issued only to residents of the county or city, and will not last for more than two years.
A judicial CCW license is only given to California commissioners, federal judges, and magistrates. This can only be used for up to three years.
Reserve Police Officer
This license is issued to a reserve police officer pursuant to Penal Code Section 830.6 and is valid for 4 years, or until the end of your appointment.
Requirements for Training
California law mandates that someone who is getting a CCW license should apply in the jurisdiction where they reside or employed substantially. He must also be ready to present a proof of residency, including a lease agreement, a utility bill, mortgage loan documentation, or residential property deed.
Penal code sections 26150 and 26155 also indicate that new license applicants should go through an approved course of training for no longer than 16 hours. As example of this training is an Orange County firearms training course that discusses firearms safety and state and federal laws about the authorized use of a firearm. Another valid example is a community college course that doesn’t go beyond 24 hours, which is certified by the commission of Peace Officer Standards and Training.
Renewal of License
If you are going to renew your license, you need to undergo a course that the licensing authority will permit. It is at least four hours long and should have instruction regarding firearm safety and a law requiring use of a firearm. In addition, renewing with the same licensing authority that issued your previous license requires the same procedure. However, you don’t have to be fingerprinted again, and you now have a reduced fee that doesn’t go beyond $25, instead of $100.
CCW Knowledge is Important
By carefully studying the rules and procedures in obtaining a California CCW license, you’re in a good position for responsible gun ownership. More importantly, make sure to choose a well-established service for firearms training in Orange County to get CCW permit with no further hassle.